Chichester District Council

COUNCIL: ANNUAL MEETING 16 May 2017

Appointments to External Organisations

1. Contacts

Diane Shepherd - Chief Executive

Telephone: 01243 534511 E-mail: dshepherd@chichester.gov.uk

Katherine Jeram, Democratic Services Officer

Telephone: 01243 534674 E-mail: kjeram@chichester.gov.uk

2. Recommendation

2.1 That the Annual Council appoints members to serve on external organisations for 2017-2018 and longer term appointments/nominations as set out in the tables in the report.

3. Main Report

- 3.1 Most appointments to outside organisations are made by the Cabinet as the terms of reference for the Cabinet include the authority "to appoint or nominate persons to outside organisations which relate to functions of the Cabinet." However, the appointment of Members to other organisations not relating to the functions of the Cabinet is reserved to Full Council.
- 3.2 Set out below are details of the organisations and the number of representatives to be appointed.

Annual Appointments 2017-2018

ORGANISATION	APPOINTMENTS IN 2016- 2017	APPOINTMENTS FOR 2017-2018
Chichester Conservation Area Advisory Committee (1)	Richard Plowman (LD)	Richard Plowman (LD)
iESE Transformation Limited (1)	Penny Plant (C)	Peter Wilding (C)
Portsmouth Water Customer Forum (1)	Simon Oakley (C)	Simon Oakley (C)
4. Sussex Police and Crime Panel (1)	Eileen Lintill (C) Carol Purnell (Deputy) (C)	Eileen Lintill (C) Carol Purnell (Deputy) (C)
5. Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust Council of Governors (1)	Gillian Keegan (C)	Eileen Lintill (C)
6. West Sussex Health and Adult Social Care Select Committee (1)	Caroline Neville (C)	Caroline Neville (C)

Longer Term Appointments

ORGANISATION	APPOINTMENTS IN 2016- 2017	APPOINTMENTS FROM 2017-2018
7. Bourne Community College Governing Body (1)	Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive	Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive (four-year appointment until 2021)
8. Bourne Trust Board (1)	Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive	Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive (four-year appointment until 2021)
9. Chichester College Board of Governors (2)	Jane Dodsworth – Head of Business Improvement Services Steve Hansford – Head of Community Services	Jane Dodsworth – Head of Business Improvement Services (four-year appointment until 2021) Steve Hansford – Head of Community Services (one- year appointment until 2018)
10.Chichester Harbour Conservancy (2 plus deputies)	Graeme Barrett (C) John Connor (C) Penny Plant (<i>Deputy</i>) (C)	Graeme Barrett (C) John Connor (C) Penny Plant (Deputy) (C) (three-year appointment 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020)
11.South Downs National Park Authority (1)	Mark Dunn (C)	Mark Dunn (C) (appointment is for councillor's term of office ie until May 2019)

4. Background Papers None